How to run Crashplan in Docker on Synology NAS

Overview

You can move and rename files and folders on your computer that are already backed up. If you are moving or renaming files within your existing backup file selection, the data deduplication feature detects the change automatically. If you move files to a location outside of your backup file selection, then you must update your file selection. This tutorial contains step-by-step instructions for moving and renaming files backed up by the Code42 app.

Video

Deactivating CrashPlan on your computer

If you want to continue to be able to restore files from your CrashPlan archives for as long as your subscription is active using the Mac client, you have to leave the software installed. You also cannot delete a backup set or change the contents of the set. If you do so, CrashPlan deletes the files that you removed or the entire backup set from your archives.

Instead, use Settings > Backup to change the frequency from Always to run in the least frequent amount of time, like 6:00 am to 6:01 am on Mondays.

However, if you’re ready to remove the application entirely and never retrieve archives or use the Web site for restoring (limited to 500MB of restoration at a time), follow Code42’s instructions on using its uninstall app. This allows directs you to find additional folders to delete that may have temporary or cached data.

New files and file changes

As you’re working on your letter and making changes, CrashPlan’s real-time file watcher sees that the file has changed and CrashPlan puts the file back into the “To do” list. If your letter is 4 MB, 4 MB is added to the “To do” list. Only the changes are actually sent to the destination, however, not the entire file. The changes are backed up while you work, creating a new version of “Offer letter Acme Corp 2015 re-engineering.doc”.

In this example, you’ve added a paragraph (highlighted in red):

 				CrashPlan’s data de-duplication scans t

  1. CrashPlan’s data de-duplication scans the file looking for new blocks of data.
  2. The new (red) data blocks are:
    1. Compressed to save space
    2. Encrypted for security
    3. Transmitted to the backup destination for storage

Backing up new file versions ¬† By default, a new version of the file is backed up every 15 minutes. This interval is controlled by the “Backup frequency: New version” setting. We recommend keeping the 15-minute¬†default in most cases. In case the “History” tab displays the message: “- Reason for stopping backup: A different backup set and/or destination was selected” you might need to increase the value.

Renametop-level folders

If you want to rename a top-level folder included in your backup file selection (that is, a folder that displays on the Manage files dialog), you must update your file selection to add the folder using its new name.

Example

For example, assume you have a drive named "External" included in your backup file selection that you want to rename "Marketing Videos." To do this, you would:

  1. Rename the drive.
  2. Open the Code42 app.
  3. Navigate to Manage Files.
  1. Add the re-labelled drive to your selection.

    Important Leave the original location selected as well. In this example, that means leaving "External" in the backup file selection.

  2. Click Save. A scan launches that looks like it is backing up the folder again. In fact, this scan allows the Code42 app to analyze and deduplicate the files with what is already backed up.
  3. (Optional) Once the backup completes, deselect the original folder name.

    Version history Historical versions of files are only retained if you leave the original location included in the file selection. If you wish to keep historical versions, do not deselect the original location. The location may display as "missing" in the Code42 app, but you can restore files from it using the Include deleted files option.

Multiple computers and backup data storage

The backup process always works the same, whether you have one computer or ten computers in your account.

CrashPlan treats each computer within your account separately and each computer’s backup is stored separately at each destination. Each source computer stores its backup in its own folder. The folder name is the source computer its CrashPlan identifier (ID).

Your CrashPlan ID default file location win: c:\Users\All Users\CrashPlan\.identity win: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\CrashPlan\.identity mac: /Library/Application Support/CrashPlan/.identity linux: /var/lib/crashplan/.identity

Ready to Get Started?

If you are a CrashPlan user looking to transition to a new cloud backup service, Backblaze makes moving easy. Reach out to us at any time for help transitioning and getting started.

print

Recent Posts

  •  Recommended Readings For Photographers from Indus

    Recommended Readings For Photographers from Industry Professionals April 21, 2020

  •  New Webinar: Real Estate Photography Editing with

    New Webinar: Real Estate Photography Editing with Rich Baum March 22, 2020

  •  The Art Of Real Estate Cinematography – New

    The Art Of Real Estate Cinematography – New Tutorial Available December 24, 2019

  •  Three Reasons You Should Be a Licensed Drone Pilo

    Three Reasons You Should Be a Licensed Drone Pilot or Hire One October 30, 2019

  •  How To Make Money Licensing Photos Webinar Now Av

    How To Make Money Licensing Photos Webinar Now Available For Sale October 7, 2019

Tags

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.