How to Delete All Your Google Home Voice Recordings

Disclaimer

The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. The information is provided by the authors and while we endeavour to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. In no event will we be liable for any loss or damage including without limitation, indirect or consequential loss or damage, or any loss or damage whatsoever arising from loss of data or profits arising out of, or in connection with, the use of this website. Throughout this website you are able to link to other websites which are not under the control of the authors. We have no control over the nature, content and availability of those sites. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorse the views expressed within them.

Video

Play Back Your Voice

 You know how everyone hates listening to the soun You know how everyone hates listening to the sound of their own voices? There’s a scientific reason for that; something to do with bones in your ear. I can’t fix that for you. But I can tell you that if you filter the Assistant/voice entries in your Google My Activity page, you can hear yourself talking to Google Home or Google Assistant. It makes for some painful listening.

Delete individual text messages

After you delete a text message from Google Voice, you won’t be able to access it again. It may be stored on your devices or the devices you messaged.

  1. Open the Voice app On the bottom, tap Messages ..
  2. On the bottom, tap Messages Tap the conversation..
  3. Tap the conversation.
  4. Touch and hold the message you want to delete. Optional: To delete multiple messages, touch and hold the first message, then tap more messages.
  5. In the top right, tap Delete Tap Delete to confirm..
  6. Tap Delete to confirm.

Important: If you use a Google Voice account with work or school, you may not have this feature.

The Final Word

The lack of a convenient mass delete option is unfortunate. Still, you can use the above options to get rid of the clutter in your account.

With the newer versions of the app, Google has restricted the deletion features, so there’s a slim chance they’ll roll out an option to delete multiple messages. What’s left to do is hope that they change their mind and until then, use Legacy Google Voice as the best alternative.

My Activity on Mobile

 The steps are almost the same on a mobile device. The steps are almost the same on a mobile device. In the Google App on iOS, click your avatar and follow this path: Manage your Google Account > Personal info & privacy > My Activity. You’ll get the same page you find on the desktop.

Mass Deleting Google Voice Messages

The option to delete multiple conversation at once is everything but obvious. For some reason, Google decided to conceal it and make it hard for their users to reach it. Thankfully, the solution exists, except it requires a bit of a workaround.

Here’s what you should do:

Even though this is a more convenient option, it’s still far from perfect. It only lets you delete one page, which is 10 items. Since there’s a high chance you have much more than that, this will still take some effort. Still, it’s faster than deleting each message or conversation separately, so it’s definitely a good shortcut.

Keep in mind that this option might not be there forever, since Google is likely to retire it in the future. They’re aware of the fact that users want the mass delete feature but intentionally choose to not include it for now.

Disable Google Voice Search

You can also stop Google from recording your voice search, but this will prevent you from using the “OK Google” command to start the voice search, and accuracy of the search will also not improve over time. To disable Google Voice Search history, click on the three vertical dots menu again, and select “Activity control.”

On the next page scroll down to the “Voice & Audio Activity” section, and click on the blue toggle button on the right side. Google will give a warning that this will negatively affect your voice search experience and that disabling this will not delete the previous data already collected (which we just deleted above). Confirm the warning to pause this feature.

You can always enable this feature again using the same instructions. Do keep in mind that you can still make voice search through the app even if Google Voice is disabled.

Restore archived text conversations, calls, or voicemails

  1. Open the Voice app In the top left, tap Menu   Archive ..
  2. In the top left, tap Menu Touch and hold the conversation, call, or voicemai Touch and hold the conversation, call, or voicemai Archive Touch and hold the conversation, call, or voicemai.
  3. Touch and hold the conversation, call, or voicemail you want to restore. Optional: To restore multiple archived items, touch and hold the first conversation, call, or voicemail, then select more items.
  4.   In the top right, tap Restore conversations .

How to Delete Your Google Voice Account

It’s possible to turn off Google Voice or unsubscribe from Google Voice entirely. There are some things to keep in mind, however. If you use Google Voice with an existing Sprint account or service, or you have paid to transfer your number, you can’t delete it. Also, deleting your Google Voice number will not wipe out all the data associated with your account, which means messages will remain in your inbox.

To permanently delete a Google Voice account, follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the official Google Voice site.

  2. Sign in to your existing account.

  3. Select the three horizontal lines or Menu option in the top left.

  4. Open the menu and choose the Settings option.

  5. Disable voicemail support for Google Voice numbers. Select Voicemail in the left menu, and uncheck the box next to the Get voicemail via message option.

  6. Choose the Phone Numbers option on the menu.

  7. Select the Delete option underneath your listed Google Voice Number.

  8. The system will ask you to confirm your selection. Select Proceed to delete your number.

  9. Your Google Voice number and account are now disabled.

    Remove the Google Voice app from your device or uninstall from your computer if you have no intention of ever using it again. If you used the web application instead, then you shouldn’t need to remove anything.

Reinstate Your Google Voice Account

If it’s within 90 days after you deleted your account, go to the Google Voice site, select the menu, and choose the Legacy Google Voice option.

Reclaim your old number by selecting Get your old number back.

Tags

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.